6 Indonesian Governor Agreed 3 Action Plans for Addressing Climate Change

Bogor, August 7, 2015

Six Governor in the Governors Climate and Forests Task Force (CGF) or the Governor's Task Force on climate and forests agreed on three action plans for addressing climate change issues.

Three of the action plan is, first strengthen forest management unit (FMU) by controlling the use of space and governance permission. Second, build partnerships with the private sector to ensure a sustainable supply chain commodity and environmentally friendly. Third ensures low emissions development inclusive with the active involvement of indigenous peoples and farmers who live in nature and the surrounding forest.

Governor of West Kalimantan and also coordinator of CGF in Indonesia, Cornelis, said that the action plan is a commitment from the Declaration of Rio Branco agreed in the last year. He also explained that these commitments will be taken to the Climate Change Conference in Paris in December.

"In Paris, we will submit this together with the head of state," he said during a press conference regarding the CGF meeting, Wednesday, July 29, 2015.

Together with the 29 states and provinces of Brazil, Mexico, Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Peru, Spain, and the United States, six governors in Indonesia has signed the Declaration of Rio Branco in Brazil, last August. Six provinces of Indonesia are Aceh, West Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, West Papua and Papua.

Declaration of Rio Branco expressed a commitment to continue reducing deforestation by 80 percent by 2020, developing partnership initiatives with the private sector to take advantage of opportunities through climate change control program, as well as guaranteeing the most of the performance-based funding dedicated to forest-dependent communities, poor farmers, and communities custom.


Source: tempo.co (290715)