175 Countries Signed Paris Agreement

Bogor, May 9, 2016

Finally, 175 countries signed the Paris Agreement. The signing was done at the headquarters of the United Nations in New York, United States to coincide with Earth Day, Friday, April 22, 2016.

UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon said this signing is a crucial step towards the realization of global action to solve the climate crisis. "Today is a historic day," said Ban Ki-moon was quoted as saying in a press release of the UN. He continued that "it demonstrates the strong determination towards the realization of climate change action," he said.

Late last year (December 2015) Paris Agreement was adopted by 196 states parties to the UNFCCC in COP 21 Paris. The target of Paris Agreement is to limit the global temperature increase below 2 degrees celsius, and trying to reduce the global temperature increase below 1.5 degrees celsius.

After the signed, the Paris Agreement is targeted to be ratified (integrated in climate change action each country) within a period of 30 days at least by 55 countries that accounted for 55% of global greenhouse gas emissions. Currently only 15 countries have ratified the Paris Agreement in the design of their national climate change action. These countries are Barbados, Belize, Fiji, Grenada, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Nauru, Palau, Palestine, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Somalia and Tuvalu.


Source: hijauku.com (220416)