Paris Agreement - Status of Ratification

Bogor, September 23, 2016

Page from UNFCCC reported that, on 21 September 2016, The Republic of Moldova and Kyrgyzstan signed the Paris Agreement, bringing the total number of signatories up to 187. This follows the signing of the Paris Agreement by Malawi, Armenia, Zambia and Chile on 20 September.

The Paris Agreement was opened for signature on 22 April 2016 at a high-level signature ceremony convened by the Secretary General in New York. At that ceremony, 174 States and the European Union signed the agreement and 15 States also deposited their instruments of ratification.

Currently, there are 191 signatories to the Paris Agreement. Of these, 61 States have also deposited their instruments of ratification, acceptance or approval accounting in total for 47.79% of the total global greenhouse gas emissions.


Source: (220916)