Status of Ratification of the Paris Agreement (Entry Into Force) and the Position of Indonesia

Bogor, November 28, 2016

Indonesia has formally ratified the Paris Agreement through Act No. 16 in 2016 and listed as a country to 89 to ratify the agreement on October 31, 2016. In addition, Indonesia also includes one of the 95 states that have passed "First Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC)" to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC ).

In accordance with Article 21, paragraph (1), of the Paris Agreement, the Agreement shall enter into force 30 days after at least 55 parties representing at least 55% of total global emissions.

On 5 October 2016, the threshold for entry into force of the Paris Agreement was achieved. A total of 74 Parties to the Convention have submitted their instruments of ratification, acceptance or approval to the Paris Agreement, with accounting 58.82% of total global greenhouse gas emissions. Paris Agreement has been enter into force on November 4, 2016.

The 74 countries, namely, Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cameroon, Canada, China, Cook Islands, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Dominica, European Union, Fiji, France, Germany, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Kiribati, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Madagascar, Maldives , Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Niger, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Portugal, Samoa, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore , Slovakia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, State of Palestine, Swaziland, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, and Vanuatu.

Last status ratification of the Paris Agreement (per 27 November 2016) which has been there 114 countries of the 193 signatory states that have ratified the Paris Agreement. The next 40 countries, namely, Algeria, Australia, Benin, Bhutan, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Comoros, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Denmark, Djibouti, Estonia, Finland, Gabon, Gambia, Greece, Indonesia, Ireland , Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Nieu, Pakistan, Paraguay, Poland, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sweden, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and Uruguay


Source: and